Another edition of the King’s Cup is upon us again as the 2010/2011 4th round draw took place earlier today.  There were five second division teams, six third division teams, one fifth division team along with the twenty first division teams to be drawn together.  The first legs will be played on 26th – 28th of October, while the second legs will be played 9th – 11th of November.

Barcelona is the most successful side in the competition having won 25 cups through out the competition’s 108 year history with Athletic Bilbao being the second most successive team with a tally of 23 cups, although some Basque faithful will debate that they won that 1902 final and they should be credited with 24 titles.  Real Madrid are the third most successful team winning the competition 17 times.  Other teams that have won are Atletico Madrid (9), Valencia (7), Real Zaragoza (6), Sevilla (5), Espanyol (4), Real Union (4), Real Sociedad (2), Real Betis (2), Deportivo La Coruña (2), Arenas Club (1), RCD Mallorca (1) and Club Vizcaya (1).

At the end of the 4th round there will be at least four first division teams knocked out as eight first division teams were drawn against each other.  Newly promoted Real Sociedad will be visited by Almeria in the first leg while Osasuna will play host to Deportivo, Hercules and Malaga will be vying for a spot in the round of 16 and Mallorca will entertain Sporting.

Barcelona will travel up North to play third division side Ceuta in the first leg in what should be an easy encounter for the Blaugrana while arch rivals Real Madrid will travel to Nueva Condomina to play against Real Murcia.  Last season’s champion, Sevilla will travel to the Basque country to take on Real Union, who were responsible for knocking Real Madrid out of the competition in the 2008/09 season.  Twenty-three time winners Athletic Bilbao will travel to Madrid to face Alcorcon, who last season recorded a famous victory over Real Madrid beating them 4-0 on home turf and then losing 1-0 on the road to record a 4-1 aggregate win over the whites.  Last season’s runners-up, Atletico Madrid will be traveling to the Canary Islands to face Las Palmas.  Seven time winners, Valencia will make the trip to play 5th division team Logroñes.  Villarreal will once again face 3rd division team Poli Ejido, who in 2008 handed the Primera team a 5-0 trouncing and an aggregate loss of 6-1.  The other match-ups are: Potugalete – Getafe, Real Betis – Real Zaragoza, Xerez – Levante, Cordoba – Racing and Valladolid – Espanyol.

There are a lot of potential upsets with the pairings for this 4th round and Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atheltic Bilbao, Sevilla, Atletico Madrid and Valencia should all take these games seriously at the expense of potentially being embarrassed.

Mourinho will be looking to break Real Madrid’s drought, Los Blancos having not won the competition in 17 years, their last title coming in 1993.  Also, they have been knocked out for the past two years by third division teams and should take the match against Murcia very seriously.

I am looking forward to the start of the competition and I hope that there will be some entertaining games, goal gluts and Real Madrid progressing to the next round with ease.